Eragon, Christopher Paolini

I was nine years old when I dove headfirst into the vast expanse of Alagaësia.

From the first page, I was hooked. Spellbound (😊) even, by the rich and vast world, the thrilling plot and the sheer depth of Paolini’s writing. A world of magic, dragons, elves and dwarves was until then foreign to me, and it left a lasting impression on me as I absorbed each of the four books.

I returned to the series nine years later, with fond, if hazy memories and a solid helping of nostalgia. Once again, I was blown away.

I was quickly drawn back into the world so painstakingly crafted by Paolini, rejoicing at the opportunity to be re-introduced to the world and it’s inhabitants. I also found that this series seemed to be particularly rewarding to re-readers.

To me, the Inheritance cycle is more than just a series of books. The world contained within seems so alive at times that it’s hard to believe that it’s a work of fiction and not out there somewhere, waiting to be discovered. Reading through these books helps me to understand myself better, and returning to these books has shown me how I’ve grown over the years, and the many ways in which I have remained the same.

While of course not without imperfections, these books and the characters within hold a special place in my heart. I am sure that without these books I would not be the person I am today, if only in small ways, and it’s with these thoughts in mind that I write this, and with these thoughts in mind that I encourage you to discover these books, and the world within, for yourself.

Atra du evarínya ono varda.
May the stars watch over you.


Thanks for reading!

If you have something to say, i’d love to hear from you.

You can reach me here -

Twitter > @hrrsnbbnt
Email >